Four more universities become authorized to perfom recognition


The decentralisation of the system of academic recognition of Lithuania initially started in 2012 is continuing forward. At the end of July four more universities have been authorised to perform recognition of foreign qualifications indedependently ofr the purpose of further study at these institututions. These universities are: Vytautas Magnus University, Kaunas University of Technology, ISM University of Management and Economics, Aleksandras Stulginskis University. This development will allow these universities to speed up the rates of admission of international students, as well as decreasing the admnistrative burden. The authorization to recognize qualifications has been awarded by the Ministry of Science and Education following an evaluation of their proposals by a special commission.

Until 2017 only three other univerisites have been authorized to perform recognition: Vilnius University and Vilnius Gediminas Technical University since 2015 and Lithuanian University of Health Sciences since 2016. It is expected that more higher education institutions will follow suit in the future.

More information on academic recognition can be found here.